Contact/Week Ahead Graphics

Email Updates

Congressman Yarmuth's 2013 Art Competition

Atherton’s Jennifer Bencomo-Suarez Wins 2013 Congressional Art Competition

Jingjing Xiao of duPont Manual voted Community Choice winner

LOUISVILLE – At a reception on Monday, Congressman John Yarmuth (KY-3) announced that Atherton High School student Jennifer Bencomo-Suarez is the winner of his Seventh Annual Congressional Art Competition. Bencomo-Suarez’s piece, “Be Your Place,” will be displayed in the Capitol’s “Artistic Discovery” corridor for a year. The winning artwork was selected by a panel of judges from the local arts community.

In addition, Congressman Yarmuth announced that Jingjing Xiao won the Community Choice Category, which was introduced this year. Louisvillians selected the winner by voting on the Congressman’s website. The piece, “Radiance,” will hang in the Congressman’s Downtown Louisville office for one year.

“Louisville has always been a great incubator for the arts, and I am honored to continue that tradition with my Congressional Arts Competition,” Congressman Yarmuth said. “Congratulations to this year’s winners, Jennifer Bencomo-Suarez and Jingjing Xiao,on their outstanding artistic talents. I am proud that their work will represent our community here and in Washington.”

During the past six years, Louisville’s young artists have submitted hundreds of pieces for the annual competition, which recognizes the artistic talents of high-school students in Kentucky’s 3rd District. The contest is part of a nationwide high-school visual art competition designed to encourage young artists in each congressional district.

This year, Congressman Yarmuth’s competition drew a record 118 submissions from Louisville high-school students representing 11 schools. It also garnered more online votes than ever.

Students also have the option to display their submitted work at Louisville International Airport, where they will be displayed for thousands of visitors from around the world.

Congressman Yarmuth announced five additional winners at Wednesday’s reception, where he also recognized and thanked the participants and judges. The full list is below. Click on the titles to view the pieces. You can view all the submitted work at


First Place: “Be Your Place” by Jennifer Bencomo-Suarez (Atherton High School)

Community Choice: “Radiance” by Jingjing Xiao (duPont Manual High School)

Second Place: “The Choice” by Jacob Shpilberg (duPont Manual High School)

Third Place: “A Portrait of Bernadette” by Madison Blevins (Presentation Academy)

Best Use of Material/Medium: “Under the Sea” by Diana Pickett (Pleasure Ridge Park High School)

Best Use of Narrative: “Society’s Neglection” by Emma Lally (Assumption High School)

Best Use of Composition: “My Phone & I” by Michael Rosenfeld (Trinity High School)


Click here to see this year's submissions.


  • Alert